

## 2025 AFL International Women's Day Award Call for Nominations

The Alberta Federation of Labour invites affiliated unions, labour councils and members to submit nominations for the 2025 AFL International Women's Day Award. The Award was introduced in 1990 to recognize a sister in the labour movement for her outstanding commitment and leadership in the trade union movement and community.

Please include a detailed biography with your nomination, giving specific examples of the nominee's participation and leadership in activities, projects, or events which demonstrate the core values below.

- A committed trade unionist who is an activist and a leader in her union and/or her community;
- Dedicated to equity and the application of a feminist lens in union and community work; and
- Dedicated to labour activism which may include holding, or having held a
  position within her union, involvement in her local, or within provincial or
  federal labour coalitions.

The deadline for accepting nominations for the IWD award is: Monday, February 3, 2025

All submissions should be emailed to the AFL Executive Council via <a href="mailto:afl@afl.org">afl@afl.org</a>. The recipient of this award will be determined at the April 2025 Executive Council meeting and the award ceremony will take place at the 2025 54<sup>th</sup> AFL Constitutional Convention April 24 – 27 at the Expo Centre in Edmonton.

Unions and labour councils are encouraged to circulate this call to their locals and members so that many deserving sisters are recognized for their contributions and are nominated for this prestigious award.



## Past recipients of AFL IWD Award are:

2024	Donna Hokiro	United Steel Workers Local 1944
2023	Roberta Hykawy	International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers 1007
2022	Cheryl Watamaniuk	United Food & Commercial Workers 401
2021	Luz Jones	Canadian Union of Public Employees 474
2020	Ivana Niblett	United Steel Workers Local 1–207
2019	Jane Sustrik	United Nurses of Alberta
2018	Siobhan Vipond	International Association of Theatrical Stage Employees 210
2017	Robyn Schaapman	International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers 424
2016	Denise Palmer	United Nurses of Alberta
2015	Christianne Hall	Ironworkers 720
2014	Sherry McKibben (posthumous)	Heath Sciences Association of Alberta
2013	Brenda Kuzio	Canadian Union of Public Employees
	Shannan Little	Public Service Alliance of Canada
2012	Yvonne Bootsman	Canadian Office & Professional Employees
2011	Betty Ann Emery	United Nurses of Alberta
2010	Bena Pattni	Canadian Union of Postal Workers
2009	Beryl Scott	United Nurses of Alberta
2008	Elisabeth Ballermann	Health Sciences Association of Alberta
	Karen Kennedy	Canadian Union of Postal Workers
2007	Joanne Miller	Canadian Union of Postal Workers
2006	Karen Werlin	Canadian Office & Professional Employees
2005	Tamara Kozlowska	Public Service Alliance of Canada
2004	Heather Smith	United Nurses of Alberta
	Barbara Ames	Canadian Union of Public Employees
2003	Peg Askin	Telecommunication Workers Union
	Angela Lauderman	Canadian Union of Public Employees
	Mickol Runcer	United Food & Commercial Workers
2002	Arlene Crozier	United Food & Commercial Workers
	Elizabeth Martian	United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America
2001	Frankie Nash	Communications, Energy & Paperworkers Union
2000	Yvonne Schmitz	Alberta Union of Provincial Employees
1999	Andrea Waywanko	Alberta Union of Provincial Employees
1998	Beth Wiwchar	Office & Professional Employees International Union
1997	Maureen Werlin	Office & Professional Employees International Union
1996	Marlene Conway	Public Service Alliance of Canada
1995	Lyn Godin	Canadian Union of Public Employees
1994	Clancy Teslenko	Canadian Union of Public Employees
1993	Connie Barnaby	Canadian Union of Public Employees
	Cindy McCallum	Canadian Union of Postal Workers
1992	Carol Stewart	Communications, Energy & Paperworkers Union
1991	Susan Keeley	Canadian Union of Public Employees
1990	Jean Ross	Canadian Union of Public Employees

